Is It Okay to Dream Big?

So I find this law at work: When I want to be content, the dream is right there with me.

The dream is there. For what, not sure. But it’s there.

Thinking in the shower – the dream. Daydreaming while at work – the dream. Random thoughts while falling asleep – the dream.

It’s not that I’m unhappy or bored. Actually quite the opposite. I just have that feeling of not working at my calling.

But is it okay to dream? Is it okay to long for something or for somewhere while you’re here? Is it okay to wish for the future while still in the present?

God knows our thoughts and tailored our dreams. We are told to long for the things of heaven. We were created for a purpose.

But we’re also called to do live in the here and now. To work as if we’re working for the Lord. To do the best we can and be Christ here on earth.

And both sides are valid. And the debate rages.

How do you balance the call of the present with the desires of the future?

How do you mesh Bonhoeffer’s Cost of Discipleship with Warren’s Purpose Driven Life? CS Lewis’ Mere Christianity with Eldredge’s Wild at Heart? Platt’s Radical with the Shack?

I read a great column in Relevant Magazine about the world needing more boring Christians. I tried to be boring. Only problem – the idleness brought about more dreams of the future.

I wish I had the answer. I wish I knew where the balance is.

Maybe one day…

Let me know what you think!

