You’ve Got to Know When to Fold ‘Em

What happens when you give something all you’ve got and it’s not enough. Matter of fact it’s not even close?

Do you analyze your mistakes, try harder, and give it another go? Or do you walk away realizing your dream may not be attainable – at least not in this realm.

Winning a trophy, catering an event, being a sous chef, and having my name on a giant trophy are dreams of mine. So much so that they made up 10% of my 40 Before 40 list.

And barbecue appeared to be the avenue in which these dreams would be fulfilled. And last weekend was my first shot in 2012. We worked hard – to the tune of little sleep, cramping legs, and hurt feet.

But it wasn’t enough. Not even close. We finished middle of the pack in one category and dead last in the other.

And then I took a step back and looked around. The people beside me were judges. The people to the other side do this 20-30 times a year. The people across from me did this over 40 times. The people beside them do this for a living. And as I walked down the list of people I was competing against, I realized I am an amateur going against pros. I made Michael Jordan’s attempt at baseball look like child’s play.

So moving forward, I have a decision to make – continue trying to fulfill my dreams in an arena with little hope of success or being open and available to the next chapter.

Sometimes you’ve got to know when to hold ’em and know when to fold ’em (you’re the man Kenny). And with barbecue competitions, I think it’s time to fold ’em.

Let me know what you think!

