40 Before 40: Intro (UPDATED)

That would be fun…
I’d love to do that…
I’ve always wanted to go there…
That is a passion of mine…
That would be awesome…

Things that make me go Hmmm…

Instead of just thinking or dreaming these things, it is time to quantify them and put them on paper (or the screen)…

As such, I am introducing a new segment to the blog entitled “40 Before 40″…

“40 Before 40” represents a list of 40 things I would like to do/accomplish before turning 40…

I am currently 32.9, so I have just over 7 years to knock them out…

Some are funny, some creative, some adventuresome, and others compassionate, but all are attainable…

My goal is to introduce them in groups of 5 over the next 8 weeks, starting Monday. This will allow me to explain each item, why it made it on the list, and potential ways I might go about completing it…

Also – I will be adding a new page to the blog where, together, we can track the goals and my progress…

You ready?

I am – hopefully…

If not, I’ll just delete these posts and act like nothing ever happened. I have that power. It rocks. It also scares me…

UPDATED – 12/11/11

As I begin to introduce the 40 things I’d like to do before turning 40, there are a few base rules we need to establish:

  • I am NOT going through a mid-life crisis
  • I love me some me and am a big baby, which means I would never do anything to hurt myself
  • These are not intended to be performed alone, even if a companion is not explicitly mentioned
  • Completion of a goal does not have to follow the exact parameters of the goal itself.  I may consider a similar experience “close enough” to an actual goal and call it complete
  • While I have taken care to create the list, it may still be fluid. For example, my desire to eat my way through Italy may take a hit if I suddenly become diabetic
  • Finally – I understand I could take a day off work and complete a good number of these, but that is not the issue.  I want these to feel natural and special, not cheap.  Take the $100 top as an example.  I want the person receiving the $100 tip to be someone in need and who I could help in a very direct and immediate way, not be just anybody
3 thoughts on “40 Before 40: Intro (UPDATED)

  1. Pingback: 40 Before 40: 40-36 | willy powell, pe

  2. Pingback: 40 Before 40: 35-31 | willy powell, pe

  3. Pingback: 40 Before 40: 30-26 | willy powell, pe

Let me know what you think!

