You Do the Math

“C” equals degree…

The square root of 24? Little less than 5…

Pi is approximately 3.14…

All of these are pretty good approximations, but don’t necessarily tell the whole story…

You can graduate with straight C’s, but what if you wanted to be a doctor or go to grad school? C’s are no longer sufficient…

The square root of 24 is a little less than 5, but what if you’re calculating something and every decimal place matters…

The first two significant digits of pi are in fact .14, but what if you’re trying to determine the circumference of the earth or sun or other large object…

There are times when being pretty good or close enough is plenty. And there are times when it is not…

When it comes to my relationship with Christ, getting by is not enough…

Sure, I’m on the right side of Christ – I believe the Gospel – which is all I need for salvation…

But what I’m noticing is I’m settling into a life where pretty close is good enough. Where I’m settling for less and not stretching the bounds of my faith. Where I’m comfortable…

But that last 10-20 percent of following Christ is tough. It may take more of my time, resources, or security…

All of which I’m not fond of giving up, especially when I am unsure of the outcome – an outcome I do not control…

But what if the outcome wasn’t the destination. What if the outcome is merely a path on the journey and the destination is actually Christ himself?

Is that worth it? I wish I could say “Yes”, but I can’t. I can’t because I’ve never tried…

I’ve never given of that last 10-20 percent, which means I can’t speak to the result…

But I’ve read of those who have.

I’ve read the stories of extreme pain turned into unquenchable faith. Of losing a child and finding comfort. Of losing a marriage and finding companionship. Of losing money and finding freedom…

I’ve read the stories, heard the songs, and seen the videos and I’m ready to be one of them – regardless of the cost…

I’m tired of doing the math and getting close. I’m ready to find the right – and only – answer…

Let me know what you think!

