The Old Still Speaks

January of 1998.  New Christian.  New girl.  Old Voice…

Group of freshman from Clemson decided to go ice skating in Greenville. Me included…

Boys in one car and girls in the other – with budding romances between them. I had already laid claim to a female passenger and was ready to impress…

Only one problem. I can’t ice skate or roller skate…

Didn’t matter – I was a man trying to swoon a girl…

First fall wasn’t too bad. Second fall – a little worse…

By the time I reached double figures, I was frustrated, embarrassed, and cussing like a sailor…

By the time I reach twenty or so falls, I was swollen, still cussing, and
receiving business cards for anger management classes. I promptly left the ice, returned my skates, and gave the cashier permission to physically remove me from the ice if I ever tried to skate again…

Little lady wasn’t impressed or being swooned. Neither were here friends. And everyone knows, if you don’t win the friends, you don’t win the girl…

The ride home was long. And the boy car was not about to let my night go to waste. I heard it all the way home. No telling what was being said in the girl car…

The next day I was still swollen and could hardly walk…

It’s been 13.5 years and I have kept my promise to never skate again – regardless of surface…

The story reminds me of 2 Corinthians 5:17 – “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has gone and the new has come.”

Sometimes, as evidenced that night, the old still speaks…

I was a new creation, a very new creation, and the old was gone. But that night I gave it a voice. I allowed it to speak and I listened and it nearly cost me THE girl. Not a girl, but THE girl…

Does your old voice still speak? Do you hear the echoes? Is it trying to pull you back?

Don’t let it – remember, you are a new creation and are no longer required to listen to that old voice…

When that voice speaks, speak back and forever hold your peace…

Let me know what you think!

