The Courthouse Lobby & High School

After spending an hour in the Beaufort County Courthouse lobby this morning, I began to realize there are striking similarities between the lobby & high school…

Like:

  • I’m wearing clothes I don’t normally wear and I feel really out of place…
  • I’m greeted by guards with way too much power.  In high school, it was Hall Monitors and School Resource Officers.  In the Courthouse, it’s the Bailiffs…
  • I can’t stop sweating…
  • I’m constantly staring at the door – hoping a certain someone is NOT coming…
  • I’m hanging out by myself – and I’m okay with that…
  • The people I do talk to are cordial, but not real.  Just Southern etiquette required pleasantries…
  • The crowd beside me is talking very loud, with each person trying to tell a story to out do the person before…
  • The crowd all of a sudden goes into whisper mode – and I’m sure they’re talking about me…
  • I’m bored…
  • I’m anxious about what will happen next…
  • I’ve read everything on the walls – and learned quite a few things.  In high school, it was who to call to have a good time (like the bathroom doors in restaurants).  At the Courthouse, I learned the Constitution does not use double esses – Congress is spelled Congrefs and class is spelled clafs…
  • Random people in official uniforms walk the hallways.  In high school, it was the ROTC members.  In the lobby, it was police…
  • I’m still afraid to use the bathroom…

And lastly:

  • I need a recess…
2 thoughts on “The Courthouse Lobby & High School

  1. Pingback: Best of 2011 | willy powell, pe

Let me know what you think!

