How Now Shall We Live?

I often wonder what causes someone to choose Christianity. Is it the claims of the Bible? Is it a social status? Is it our parents? Is it the actions of others?

Do our actions lead people to Jesus Christ? Do they drive them away? Do they move them at all?

If I were to be the best father I know how, would it cause someone else to go to church? Maybe, but would it make them choose Christ? Probably Not…

If I were to be the best employee I know how, would it cause someone else to go to church? Maybe, but would it make them choose Christ? Probably not…

If I were to be the best husband I know how, would it cause someone else to go to church? Maybe, but would it make them choose Christ? Probably not…

(Does me being a Christian even have any bearing on my abilities as a father, employee, or husband? Maybe some, but I know non-Christians who are better fathers, employees, and husbands than I am or ever could be…)

If our actions are unable to change someone else life, then why should that be my primary method of evangelism? Why should my behavior be the focus of me living out the Great Commission?

Would we be better off knowing more about our faith and less about how to live? Would we be better off worrying more about the lost than how we are viewed by others in the church?

Take CS Lewis & Lee Strobel. Two extremely smart fellas who were not wooed to Christ by the actions of others. To further the point, Strobel’s wife was a strong Christian while he was a staunch atheist…

Lewis & Strobel came to know Jesus personally due to conversations with others. Lewis was heavily influenced by J.R.R. Tolkien (Lord of the Rings dude) and Strobel through discussions with leading Biblical scholars…

It was never because their neighbor refused to drink or handled their money properly or was a doting father…

Makes me wonder what I need to learn more so than how I need to live…

Let me know what you think!

