What Was Lost Has Now Been Found

The Bible is full of great stories of things lost being found. You have the story of the prodigal son, the lost sheep, and the lost coin – not to mention the greatest story – the story of Jesus coming to save that which is lost…

Well, I think we need to add one more…

Sometime ago I lost something very special to me. Something that has has been there through great accomplishment and grave disappointment. Something that has been on wonderful adventures and been there in the stillness. Something that has been shared with 80,000 people and something shared only with my wife…

Something so comfortable, so natural, so me…

When you lose something like this, you lose part of yourself. You start to lose self-confidence and begin doubting yourself. Nothing seems real or normal anymore. You wonder if others can see it as well…

I went through a month of this, before one day last week I found it. It was hidden in a corner, similar to the lost coin, just smiling at me. I think it was as happy to see me as I was to see it…

I reached down, grabbed it, exhaled, shouted — and placed it back on my head…

It felt so – right…

My favorite Clemson hat – the one that is now a light gray rather than its original navy blue, the one that doesn’t need an emo kid at Gap scarping it against the sidewalk to make it look rugged, the one that has a bit of funk to it – is now found…

I feel a bit found again myself…

One thought on “What Was Lost Has Now Been Found

  1. Pingback: Best of 2011 | willy powell, pe

Let me know what you think!

