When a Heart Breaks

Woke up this morning
And I heard the news
I know the pain of a heartbreak
I don’t have answers
And neither do you
I know the pain of a heartbreak

Pretty powerful words from a 25 year old. I wonder if this is just a song or based on real sorrow. Could it be a girl? A grandparent? A friend?

I don’t know if I’ve ever been heartbroken…

I don’t mean the poor, helpless, or hungry. I mean I’ve never been fully invested in something and had it stripped away for ever…

High school brought a couple of tragedies, but the heart stayed in tact…

I didn’t date much before getting married – my first real love sleeps to the left of me…

Children have brought anxiety, but no heartbreak…

Death isn’t been something I’m familiar with. I’m still blessed with two parents and four grandparents…

Unfortunately I know heartbreak is real. I’ve seen it in others. My wife lost her hero and best friend to cancer. The same for my dad.

I’ve seen the aftermath of good friends with broken marriages…

Luckily for me, heartbreak has been kept at arms length – until now…

My heart is broken, two lives are forever altered, and I am helpless to change any of it…

I’d give almost anything to fix it. I’d pay any money, spend any time, or do anything. But I can’t…

The chorus goes on to say this:

This isn’t easy
This isn’t clear
And you don’t need Jesus
Til you’re here
Then confusion and the doubts you had
Up and walk away
They walk away
When a heart breaks

I know the pain of a heartbreak…

Let me know what you think!

