Them’s Good People

Much has been made of our situation – of us taking in two young children in a foster-type setup.  The much of others has encouraged us, provided for us, and reminded us of our purpose…

We are trying to nurture and love and lead two kids that have dealt with and are dealing with more than they should. We are trying to explain to our two girls the meaning of sacrifice and sharing and patience…

There are days when I think this could literally be the hardest thing I’ve ever done. There are days when I long for the perceived simpler times of just two kids…

But then as I begin to tell people our story, I stop and listen, and hear their stories. I realize that our sacrifice is not all that unique. I realize there are a lot of good people out there – people giving of their time and resources so that someone else gets a chance…

I think about friends of ours who spent 2-3 years of their adult lives living and serving at a boys’ home. They’ve shown numerous boys that there is hope and they can be anything they want to be…

I think about friends who’ve adopted not one or two or three or even four, but five kids…

I think about friends who gave up their retirement to help the poor and helpless in Belize, Jamaica, and Guatemala…

I think about the friend who spent 18 months in South America or the friends living in Moscow or the friends living in Belize…

I think about the new wife that had dreams of family and vacations and a regular life, but instead takes care of her husband as he battles sickness after sickness after sickness. Neither one asked for this, but they both wake up each day and fight with all they have…

I think about the friend who is trying to take the Gospel to what can be the most difficult place in the world – his hometown, so that his family and friends hears about Jesus…

These stories may not be book worthy, or even sermon illustration worthy, but they are examples of people putting the Gospel in action…

Next time you question whether or not God is real or alive, ask around your community. You’ll be surprised at the stories of people, normal everyday people, who are giving of themselves so someone else gets a chance…

Then smile and think – Them’s Good People…

Let me know what you think!

