A Romantic Past?

Intrigued by the title? You wouldn’t be if you really knew my past, but that’s not what this post is about…

No – this post is about how we romanticize our past. We tend to hold it in a much higher light than it probably should be. We exaggerate the good memories and gloss over the bad. And the more we recall a memory, the more glorious it becomes…

This is often taken to extremes – see these guys:

But my focus is not on the delusional, just the normal. Like – now that we have a few extra kids in the house, how did we spend all that free time when we had just two. Or remember those peaceful Saturday afternoons spent as a family playing board games and sipping iced tea?

We all know that wasn’t how our time was actually spent, but now that life is crazier, we long for those days and they somehow become magical in our minds…

Here’s our example. I think about being a senior in college and wondered how I spent all my free time as a freshman. I get married and start a job and have actual responsibilities. I wonder how I spent all my single care-free time. After a year or so, we bought a home and added a dog – you know, living the American Dream – and I wondered how Janet and I spent our married time…

A few years later, along came Delaney and we couldn’t figure out where our previous time went. About two years later, Addy made her first appearance and we were overwhelmed…

Fast forward about four years and we’ve taken temporary custody of two sweet children and we can’t figure out we had it so easy with just two…

See how it works? The past always sounds so much more romantic than it really was…

Let me know what you think!

