Surprise Visit

One of the great truths (and mysteries) of Jesus is the comfort that comes from him being a man.  As a man, he was able to experience the same experiences we experience.  While listening to the sermon this morning, I chuckled while thinking of Jesus as a prankster.

Have you ever had that feeling where you know you are going to surprise someone and you can’t wait to see their reaction?  My favorite is when you come home early, which happens infrequently, and you are able to sneak in the house and surprise your kids.  After the initial shock and confusion, they are overcome with excitement.  They scream with delight and run to your arms.

I imagined a resurrected Jesus, just before he entered the room where the disciples were gathered.  I bet he had a smile on his face and he knew they would have a similar reaction.  I wonder if he played it up a bit – had a little flair for the dramatic.  I mean, this was a pretty amazing and important moment in history.  I know I would have…

Next time you have a funny thought, remember Jesus had that same thought and laughed too…

At the end of the Great Commandment, Jesus says the following (Matthew 28:20) – “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Let me know what you think!

